Tigers lose run on appeal play after Alex Avila misses third base

CLEVELAND – The Detroit Tigers has had a run disallowed in the fifth inning when it was ruled on appeal that a runner did not touch third base before scoring in a game against the Cleveland Indians.

Quintin Berry hit a ball into the hole at shortstop Saturday, where Asdrubal Cabrera fielded it and threw to third to try and get Alex Avila advancing. But the throw was wild and Avila scored and Berry advanced to second.

Cleveland changed pitchers and, before throwing a pitch, reliever Tony Sipp stepped off the mound and threw to third on an appeal. Third base umpire Wally Bell ordered Berry back to second. The Indians then appealed again and Bell called Avila out, negating the run and making the score 4-0 after it had turned to 5-0 on the scoreboard.

News from © The Associated Press, . All rights reserved.
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

Join the Conversation!

Want to share your thoughts, add context, or connect with others in your community? Create a free account to comment on stories, ask questions, and join meaningful discussions on our new site.

Leave a Reply

The Associated Press

The Associated Press is an independent global news organization dedicated to factual reporting. Founded in 1846, AP today remains the most trusted source of fast, accurate, unbiased news in all formats and the essential provider of the technology and services vital to the news business. More than half the world’s population sees AP journalism every day.